Westmoreland commissioner urges municipalities to apply for funds by Wednesday

Eighteen Westmoreland County municipalities could collectively be leaving nearly $2.5 million on the table if they don’t apply for pandemic relief funds by this week’s deadline, according to county Commissioner Doug Chew.

Chew learned that, as of Friday, 18 local communities had not applied for their share of funds from the American Rescue Plan Act. He noted June 30 — Wednesday — is the deadline for applying for the funding, through the state Department of Community and Economic Development.

“There are many uses for these ARP funds where the county and the local municipalities could build synergies by combining funds for maximum impact,” Chew said. “I can’t believe our mutual constituents couldn’t benefit from improved broadband or improvements to sewage or water infrastructure.

Johnna A. Pro, regional DCED director, notified the Westmoreland commissioners that the following municipalities had not applied as of Friday: Adamsburg, Arona, Avonmore, Delmont, Export, Hunker, Irwin, Madison, New Alexandria, New Florence, North Belle Vernon, Penn, Seward, Sutersville, West Leechburg and Youngstown boroughs; and Salem and St. Clair townships.

Chew said Westmoreland municipalities that need assistance in applying for the funds may contact Pro, at jopro@pa.gov, or Chew’s office, at 724-830-3102.

Jeff Himler is a Tribune-Review staff writer. You can contact Jeff at 724-836-6622, jhimler@triblive.com or via Twitter .